Krabi, Thailand 2017 | carol_herbert

IMG_1657

Krabi!! What about Krabi? Where to go in Krabi? What to do in Krabi? I did a little research before going because this trip I brought my parents along. It was Father’s day gift for my father last year 2016, and the trip was this year 2017. Talking about Air Asia free seats huh? HAHA… you will need to wait a year to board the plane .. Anyways we got a really good deal to Krabi, only Rm39 on way from Kuala Lumpur,Malaysia. The flight only lasted an hour so it was a pretty good short trip for my parents. I don’t think they can stand long trips esp long hours in the plane. I always try my best to accommodate all.

IMG_1607

So I managed to book a good villa which had breakfast included. That was my main priority. Breakfast! We stayed in Oscar Villa Aonang Krabi. Offering a garden, Oscar Villa Aonang Krabi is located in Aonang Beach. Ao Nang Krabi Boxing Stadium is 3.5 km away. Free WiFi is featured throughout the property and free private parking is available on site. There is a seating and/or dining area in some units. Some units also have a kitchen or a kitchenette, equipped with a microwave. Oscar Villa Aonang Krabi also includes an outdoor pool. Bike hire and car hire are available at the property and the area is popular for horse riding and snorkeling. You can engage in various activities, such as diving and cycling. Nopparat Thara Beach is 4 km from Oscar Villa Aonang Krabi, while Krua Thara Seafood Restaurant is 5 km from the property. The nearest airport is Krabi Airport, 16 km from the property.

The first day, we left to Seremban to park my car at my cousin’s house and book a Grabcar to get us to the airport as the usual practice. We left around 8am and managed to reach at the airport by 11am plus. I had to do things slow because of my parents. They can’t walk so fast and run if we are to catch a plane so I had to plan everything ahead and make sure everything is on time which the pace we are walking at. Once we reached the KLIA2 airport, we went to check in the bags and headed to get my Thailand wifi from Travel Recommends. This portable wifi is good as you can use unlimited data in Thailand without any worries. You can also get the local sim cards if you want to but me , due to my parents and I didn’t want to have any fuss on the internet , I just rented it to save on the lectures later on. HAHAHAH!!! Anyways, we were early so we went to PapaRich for brunch before boarding the plane . Pricing was ok, I mean RM25 for a nasi lemak is a bit too much but I understand as it was sold at the airport things here might get wild with the pricing. As long we fill our tummies and be full till we reach Thailand should be okay,,, We boarded on time and cleared customs without any hassle. Thanks be to God.

We reached Thailand about late evening and I thought I could use Grabcar there in Krabi airport but couldn’t . There were so many shops selling bus and taxi tickets straight to the hotels so I decided we take the bus which also accommodates the people we saw on the plane. Security purpose huh?? Going into a country that has bombing issues and you don’t really understand the language can make you feel a bit insecure but it was ok because most of the Malaysians were in the bus. It was also cheaper compared to if you would to take the cab. So, head my advice and take bus which only costs 100baht (Rm13) . The bus will take you through Krabi town and you can actually see the people and drivers are very calm and not rushing. We Malaysians are always rushing doing and settling things,even driving or eating. I kid you not!! We need everything to be fast and mind you time wasn’t on our side. It is like 24hours isn’t enough for a day. You get what I meant??

 

 

Once we reach our hotel, we were warmly welcomed by the staff of Oscar. They were muslims so they can understand Malay and English. They brought us to the nearest villa which was just right behind the lobby. Nice right? Very beautiful and full of the necessities needed. We were even given a schedule for the tuktuk(auto rickshaw) to Aonang beach. The schedule showed the free time slot you can take the tuktuk to the beach for free and other timings they will charge you 200baht. We got settled down, freshen up and took the tuktuk down to Aonang beach. The beach was full of things and we can stroll by the beach if you want to. It was like a huge jonker street that we have in Melaka, Malaysia. This one was bigger and you can walk endlessly and keep buying new stuffs. We just went for a random walk and had dinner at one of the Thai restaurants. The restaurant was upstairs, so we had to climb up the stairs to get upstairs. The view was magnificent and breezy.

 

 

The next day, after breakfast we took the free tuktuk at 9am. We went down to Aonang beach just to chill. I stopped by a coffee shop name The Coffee Club , just facing the beach. My style, I always try to drop by coffee places and try their new coffee and new flavors. For this time around, I managed to try their Melloccino, it’s a shot of espresso textured with silky smooth milk cream and garnished with spongy, sweet marshmallows. One of the good coffees I tried before. I tried paying using my Citibank and it actually works although it was just one coffee. After getting my coffee, we went and walk around and did some shopping till noon. For lunch, we dropped by Jeanette’s Restaurant. This restaurant is famous for the Indian mix Thai mix Chinese food. The waiters were all entertaining and friendly. To me, the fella serving keep maintaining eye contact and sort of flirting but keep maintain his cool because my parents was around. Food served was delicious and the masala tea was really good. One thing funny, they didn’t have that masala tea in the menu. My dad initially wanted the masala tea but just ordered tea because that was what they had on the menu what!!! And when he came to me, as I told you before, flirting never ends, and he suddenly promoted his masala tea to me. My dad was like huh?? I wanted masala tea but your menu doesn’t say you have and he felt embarrassed and told my dad he will get him one also. Facepalm moments right?? Anyways, thanks for the flirts I got the best tea ever and the best service.

 

 

After lunch, we left and walked a bit to digest out meal. Later on, we planned to go Krabi town in the evening. We went back home and rested and came out again using the free tuktuk. The waiting point was the starting of Aonang Beach. There will be tuktuks bringing you straight to Krabi town. I was sad at first because night markets in Krabi are usually on Friday, Saturdays and Sundays. We were there on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday. The locals told us there are night markets every day; it’s just the main ones are on weekends. I was so happy, told the tuktuk fella to bring us straight to Krabi town and the night market. We enjoyed the night market as there were so many things to eat and bargain. So cheap !!! We walked along the shops and found some mini ice cream and it was too cute to not try it. We had to wait for our tuktuk back to Aonang beach. Tourists usually wait for the tuktuk at 7Eleven nearby. That was the spot. We came back to the guesthouse safely. The tuktuk we took had so many nationalities and it was fun seeing so many people from different countries in one tuktuk. We went back home, ate our dinner then rested well.

The next day, it was kinda gloomy. Raining but it was okay to go and shop for snacks. We dropped by tesco and then went to the small malls they had. Shop and then race through the rain and stopped for lunch before heading back to Malaysia. Our flight was in the evening so it wasn’t a rush for us. We enjoyed the trip although it was short. Next time, I am definitely going with my friends so that I can enjoy the water sports and do some rough activities and island hoping.

For more viewing, you can check out my instagram : www.instagram.com/carol_herbert

Addresses:

Oscar Villa

7/13 Moo 2 Tambon Aonang A. Muang, Aonang Beach, ” 81000, Thailand

The Coffee Club – Ao Nang

273 Muang Krabi, Ao Nang, Mueang Krabi District, Krabi 81000, Thailand

Jeanette’s Restaurant

249/2 4203, Tambon Ao Nang, Amphoe Mueang Krabi, Chang Wat Krabi 81000, Thailand

3 comments

  1. RyanC · July 3

    great photos – looks like a sweet spot!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

