When Psych Majored Students Meet | carol_herbert

index

Psychology.. The word that means so many things and acts differently. I majored in Psychology and graduated from the University of Nottingham Malaysia. People are my favorite but talking from an introvertly extrovert people like me can be complicated. I can be extremely shy and awkward at first but when I get close to you I can be the crazy friend who would want to keep. Yes, I have so many crazy friends and thank God mainly all are internationals. Don’t get to see them often due to distance but am thankful my life is full of colors.

“Introverts, in contrast, may have strong social skills and enjoy parties and business meetings, but after a while wish they were home in their pajamas. They prefer to devote their social energies to close friends, colleagues, and family. They listen more than they talk, think before they speak, and often feel as if they express themselves better in writing than in conversation. They tend to dislike conflict. Many have a horror of small talk, but enjoy deep discussions.”
Susan Cain, Quiet: The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking

My psychology friends planned like a small gathering to meet up with all the ex-Nottingham psychology students for a Christmas Dinner. It was the season where everyone will be back to Malaysia and their homes as some of them were studying in  the UK and some were working out of town. Most of them were staying in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. So we talked and discussed and decided that KL was the best option that most of us can meet up. We set up like an FB event thingy and only invited a few as we knew that the more we invite, the more difficult for people to response in attending the event. Invitations were given out to some seniors, our classmates, and juniors. A mix of everyone. The turnout was okay. At least 70% came so it was a fun night.

We selected randomly at this place for dinner, Monte Restaurant. After choosing the place, we only realized that we had our graduation dinner before at the very same place. It was like mind blown. Anyways, we all agreed to go back there and dine in as we already knew the food menu and it was easier to find.We decided to meet at 7 pm.

On that day which was the 19.12.2015, I came to KL with my friend Hiew Vivian. We drove from Johor Bahru up to KL. It took us about 4 hours drive and we reached Bangsar about noon. I had a hair treatment plus coloring appointment with C.Michael at 2 pm so we had to rush for brunch. We meet her BF at Antipodean for brunch. It was a place for a really good breakfast.

BIG breakfast (RM18) with toast, choice of bacon, chicken, beef or pork sausages, mushrooms, hash brown and scrambled eggsIMG-20151219-WA0032

My friend had this salmon with eggs.Cant remember how much but it definitely looks and taste good.

Scrambled egg salmon on toast

IMG-20151219-WA0033

Picture time 🙂 IMG-20151219-WA0035

After eating, we finished quite early, so I thought maybe I could try my luck to go to the salon and ask for an early hair-do. God knows how crowded the place was. Maybe it’s because of the promotion they were having. They were offering a package of Apple Stem Cell Treatment plus Coloring (RM148). I went in and tried to ask them whether can I do it earlier, and the shop was fully crowded until I was rejected instantly. SIGHHHHH…. so many people you know… :/ Anyways, my friend decided that we could just walk around Bangsar mall to kill time. We went for window shopping and sharp 2 pm I went to the salon. Still packed. I just sat and waited for my turn. My turn only came at 3 pm, I wasn’t too late for my psychology dinner.

At the salon, there such a drama happened I could remember for life. There is Indian lady who came bashing through the salon complaining that she was overcharged just after she left the salon. The people in the salon were shocked to see her come screaming into the salon like this. She shouted at the lady for overcharging her. The cashier had to call the boss and settle the argument. The air was feisty and hot I could tell. I mean being an Indian myself, I felt embarrassed to even be there. One of the hair stylists had to come in and interfere to settle the issue before this Indian lady makes a fuss. They were calling the banks and asking here and there. And know something, the case ended up at the police station. I kid you not!!! I mean COME ON lah…its neither anyone’s fault. Just wait till the Monday when all the banks are open then settle bah..Y SO FUSSY?? It isn’t like they cheated you or what? It’s just the transaction problem and if it were to reimburse back, it will .. My God.. Anyways the rest of us just kept quiet and waited for out turn to do our hair. I am glad the Indian lady didn’t take out any PARANG to slash the stylist. Hahahaha…

So I got my hair done and it turned out good. Met my friends and had a good time. Food wise was ok. The after party was even better. Took crazy pictures and had so much laughter and fun. Glad my day turned out good.

IMG-20151222-WA0014

IMG-20151222-WA0007

IMG-20151222-WA0016
IMG-20151222-WA0012

IMG-20151222-WA0009

THE END 😀

Monte Restaurant

Monte’s Restaurants and Wine Bar
Lot F 112, Level 1, Bangsar Shopping Center
Jalan Maarof, 59000 Kuala Lumpur
Tel (603) 2094 1112/3
Fax (603) 2094 1113

C.Michael Malaysia Bangsar

Opening Hours
Monday – Sunday, 11 am till 11 pm

Antipodean Cafe

Address: 20, Jalan Telawi 2, Bangsar Baru, 59100 Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Hours:

Open today · 8:00 AM – 10:00 PM
One comment

  1. Internalbasis · January 24, 2016

    I have the book of Susan Cain, it is fascinating.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

