YMCA of the Rockies | carol_herbert

download (2)

“Y.M.C.A.”

Young man, there’s no need to feel down.
I said, young man, pick yourself off the ground.
I said, young man, ’cause you’re in a new town
There’s no need to be unhappy.

Young man, there’s a place you can go.
I said, young man, when you’re short on your dough.
You can stay there, and I’m sure you will find
Many ways to have a good time.

It’s fun to stay at the Y.M.C.A.
It’s fun to stay at the Y.M.C.A.

#50%true

Working at the YMCA ! What could I say more. I love it. Short words describe the best, don’t you think? I might say that working ‘over the sea’ has opened up my mind-set. Just saying, I am a typical Malaysian where we are still a developing country and our thinking has not run far to being a close minded community. Not to say all of us are like that but there are some of us are still ‘living under the coconut shell’ if you know what am I talking about. Coming from a third-class mentality community has been tough as we think differently compared to other developed countries.Enough of thinking , even the language has cause a lot of barriers in certain areas. To me, I am all ready to learn more, develop skills and experience.

YMCA has been an awesome platform for me to perform my duties in a good manner as well as experience things in a different way. I worked under the Food Service Department where I was to manage the dining hall and sometimes needed to help in various areas. I also did wedding banquets and holiday events such as Thanksgiving and Christmas. It was definitely a great experience working under management that never learns to quit. When I first started work, it was a disaster. You would like to know what happened? MALAYSIAN TIME!!! Oh my world! First day of work and I was ok. The next few days was ok because I got afternoon shift which was 12:30pm till 9pm. The moment I got morning shift, 6:00am till 2:30pm, I screwed up. Being late wasn’t part of the plan, trust me. :/ Anyways, I clocked in like 5 minutes late and guess what? Everyone was looking at me like I committed a crime or something. From that day onward, I understood that Americans take their duties and time clocking very seriously.

Moving on, I started learning simple tasks from my very good Philippine friend of mine, Marixi :D. She was my mentor and has taught me a lot. I looked up to her and will always remember the days we had spent together working in the same dining hall. Days went by so quickly and I made lots of good friends which I will cherish till the end of my life. I had good supervisors and managers where they had taught me a lot as well. My main working area was Aspen dining and I was so happy. NO NEED TO WAKE UP EARLY ANYMORE!WOOHOO. I got afternoon shift for good. Happy and well content, I worked my butts off and make sure I was a good employee.

“When I see the best of myself in others, it makes a good first impression.” ― Bauvard, The Prince Of Plungers. First impressions speak a lot. Thank God I found favor in many eyes and it was a blessing to be working there. Want to know more? Email me and I will update you privately. ^_^
Leave a Reply

