Next Journey In Life | carol_herbert

images (1)

C.O.L.O.R.A.D.O

Travel makes one modest, you see what a tiny place you 
occupy in the world.-Gustave Flaubert

Guess what? I was recruited by the YMCA of the Rockies to participate in the work and travel program. It was an adventure during the whole time i was there. ‘Picture paints a thousand words’. This quote has been used over and over again without realizing how a picture can speak to people and inspire them. To me this picture has taught me a lot on the blessing and mercy of God each and every day. Personally i just want to thank God for such a wonderful environment he has placed me in. Honestly saying, i am a very introvert person and doesn’t like much of meeting new people and settling down with a new environment. Who knows Colorado was the place.

Leaving Malaysia and heading to Colorado was tough. People were giving bad impressions and negative thoughts which discourages me a lot. Just to share with you readers is that, when your daughter or son or even a friend is planning to travel overseas, please do encourage them instead of giving excuses and holding them back for no reason. People were saying, ‘What? You are going to COLORADO? It so cold there. You wouldn’t survive’ , ‘Why USA?’ , ‘Your parents allow you to go? If it was my children i would never ever allow them’ . Is this what i deserve to hear from these people? I mean come on. The world has change for the better and there are surprises to look forward to. For me, i wanted to participate in this program of work and travel as i want to expand my horizons in the new world and experiencing working there.

HAHAHA. Being me,most of my friends knew me so well, that they knew nothing can stop me from going to USA except God himself, which He didn’t in the first place. So, if God allows me to go, who are YOU? And so my journey began. It was a bitter start but a sweet ending. My excitement of flying was immeasurable. “When once you have tasted flight, you will forever walk the earth with your eyes turned skyward, for there you have been, and there you will always long to return.” — Leonardo da Vinci

Flying from Malaysia to Colorado was exciting. Besides all the transits and waiting, i did enjoyed myself. I was sick to be honest. I had this terrible flu and it wasn’t an easy ride for me or my co-mates, Tan Xue Er and Vivian Hiew. They were such a great help in making myself comfortable. Without them i would be ‘dead’ by then. I landed on the 18th of November 2013 which was last year. People might be thinking why am i writing about the past when i should be writing to inspire the future. The past has taught me a lot and i would definitely pen it down somewhere and i chose wordpress. No big deal.

Leave a Reply

